Posted by: mdawg45 | August 5, 2007

June 28, 2007

Not much to write about this day.  I was sick.  Icky sick.  Stay in bed all day sick.  Slept most of the day sick. You see a common theme here?????

I finally felt better enough in the evening to come out and join my host family for a light dinner.  I also gave them their gifts.  In Russia, when you stay or visit a home, you are supposed to bring gifts.  I’ve always followed this tradition when I visit  friends here in the United States but in Russia, it is expected!

I brought American magazines (Glamour), Boston Red Sox playing cards, chocolates and fudge from Winfrey’s in Newburyport,  a University of Illinois baseball hat, a 2008 calendar of Boston, and a Newburyport coffee mug.  I think the gifts were a hit! 🙂  Especially the chocolate and fudge – I’ve started a care package to send over to my host hamily in Vladimir already . . . Tide pens (long story on this item – they don’t have Tide pens in Russia) and chocolate are on the list! 🙂

I still was feeling blah so Natalia gave me more medicine. More sleep and somewhat hopeful that I will feel better the next day.


Responses

  1. I hope that you get to keep in touch with your host families for many years to come! It’s awesome to have made friends in Russia! 🙂 Hope that the next day is all better for you!

  2. They sounded like a wonderful family! You were very lucky 🙂

  3. Winfreys fudge is the best!!! No wonder they liked it. 🙂 Do you keep in touch by way of email? Yana would have more translating to do, lol.


Leave a comment

Categories