Posted by: mdawg45 | August 26, 2007

July 9, 2007

Our schedule was a little screwy today.  We had a quick lesson on Russian proverbs.  We also had informal discussions with Ron and Alexei.

At lunch at the Golden Gates Restaurant- our group had eaten here before.  The food was OK.

Had a panel discussion on the role of women in Russia.  Three women were on the panel:  Yelena Potapova, Dmitri Petrosyan, and Olga Usov.  Yelena spoke for most of the time so it really wasn’t a true panel discussion.

I took my host family out dinner tonight to thank them for everything they did for me while I was visiting Vladimir.  I asked them to pick a restaurant and they picked a Japanese restaurant.  The food was fantastic! Funny story – Yana, Natalia, and I ordered sushi for our meal but poor Andrei ordered cooked fish that took FOREVER to be served!  He waited and waited.  At one point, the waitress brings out – get this – a bottle of tobasco sauce that is made in Louisiana USA!  So, we had American tobasco sauce in a Japanese restuarant in Russia!  My host family thought it was so funny! 

My host family gave me a going away gift – a beautiful lacquer box with a Russian winter scene handpainted on it.  Yana noticed that I kept my jewelry on the dresser in her bedroom so she thought I would like a nice box to store my jewelry.  VERY thoughtful gift!  And, I received two Russian flags!  I’m going to hang them in my classroom.

I was so blessed to have such a wonderful host family during my stay in Vladimir – I will always remember my time here.  I hope to return for another visit someday.  I also hope that my host family will get the opportunity to travel to the United States and visit me too. 🙂

We went back to the flat for dessert – Yana made a wonderful berry pie with those berries she picked at the dacha over the weekend.  She also made kvas – a drink with berries in it.

We stayed up late and chatted about Russia and America.  Time to sleep – Dobroi nochi (Good night)!


Responses

  1. Isn’t it funny how you can’t get away from some things… there is always something that “brings” your thoughts back home… Tobasco Sauce HA!!!

    Also… what a treasure you found in your host family… its really as if someone that has known you forever hand picked them for you…


Leave a comment

Categories