Posted by: mdawg45 | October 28, 2007

July 22, 2007

100_1605.jpg

Tomb of the Unknown Soldier – Red Square in Moscow.

100_1611.jpg

Gum Department Store in Moscow.

100_1621.jpg

Me in front of Lenin’s Mausoleum.

We spent the day in Moscow.  Stood in line for a few hours to see Lenin’s Tomb.  People were trying to cut ahead of us.  We were typical Americans – NO ONE WOULD CUT IN FRONT OF US! 🙂  There was this elderly couple standing behind me and kept pushing me.  Something that some Russians don’t understand is personal space.  The men in my group said something to the couple to stop pushing me.  They continued to stick their bony elbows into my back – I thought I was going to lose it!

Finally!  We made it to the Tomb.  The military guards search you pretty well so no cameras allowed.  It was dark once you got inside.  The soldiers kept telling us to move.  You can’t even stop to look.  The traffic flows rather quick once you are inside of the mausoleum.

Lenin looked horrible!  He’s been preserved since his death in 1924.  Once you get outside, located behind the mausoleum, are the graves of other famous communists.  Joseph Stalin, Leonid Brezhnev, and Yuriy Andropov just to name a few.

Afterwards, we walked over the St. Basil’s Cathedral. It was still shocking that I was walking in Red Square!  All that history that has taken place here! It was built between 1555 and 1561 by Ivan the Terrible.  What a magnificent structure! It was larger than life . . . colorful just like in the photos.  I must have taken over 20 plus pictures of this grand structure!  We took a quick walking tour through the Cathedral.  Saw lots of old icons. Walked a lot of awkward stairs.

We then got back into the van and checked out the Hard Rock Cafe located in the Arbat section of Moscow.  Also did some shopping.  I was on the hunt for some gifts for my family and friends.

Afterwards, a group of us went back to the hotel.  We wanted to check out the open market called Izmailovsky Souvenir Market.  If you are looking for some good deals, this is the place!  I finished up my shopping for everyone here.

Went back to the hotel.  I needed to get ready for the Circus!  Most of the acts were incredible!  I did have a tough time watching the acts with the bear and the tigers.  The Russians are rough with their animals so if you are an animal lover, I wouldn’t recommend going to see a circus in Moscow.  Another note:  our tour guide paid double the ticket price for us since we were tourists!  Normally, the ticket price is $12.00.  She paid $23.00!

We travelled back to the hotel for our last dinner as a group.  Toasts were made – it’s sorta sad because we’ve been together for over a month and we’ve become this little family.  After tomorrow, our family will say good-bye.

Went back to the hotel lobby for a quick wrap-up meeting.  Ron had gifts for all of us – Soviet pins and flags.  A great gift!

I went back up to my hotel room and packed for the last time.  Karen and I chatted.  I’m going to miss her.  She’s been a wonderful roommate!

Off to bed – Spokoinoi nochi!


Responses

  1. Beautiful photo, thanks for sharing! I would love to go there some day. 🙂


Leave a comment

Categories